Ghibli Studio, Mori Art Museum and the Tokyo City View

By Altynai Tolenova

On day 2 of the MIRAI Program, we went to visit the Roppongi Hills Mori Tower located in the center of Tokyo city. First, we took an elevator to the 52nd floor of the building to get a view of Tokyo city. The view of the city impressed me with its scale and grandeur, as it seemed endless. Participants of the MIRAI Program could see that many skyscrapers, roads, bridges, Ferris wheels, constructions exist in Tokyo, making it one of the most modern cities in the world. I enjoyed the view of Tokyo Tower, which looks like the Eiffel Tower but taller. The city was gorgeous and magnificent, about half of which was white and grey in colour.

The most touching and memorable part of the day was Studio Ghibli Exhibition at Roppongi Hills. From my early childhood, I was a big fan of animation movies by Hayao Miyazaki, such as “Princess Mononoke”, “Howl`s Moving Castle”, “The Wind Rises” and the Oscar winning “Spirited Away”.  Many pictures and original poster signs were presented, depicting different characters from animation studio films over the past thirty years. Just the thought that I had the opportunity to see the original illustrations live greatly inspired me. The airship from “Castle in the Sky” with dozens of spinning propellers looked incredibly amazing as it was moving up and down.  Many visitors were taking pictures of a cat bus from “My Neighbour Totoro”.  It felt as if I got into a fantastic world of magic and animation.

At the Roppongi Hills Mori Tower, we also visited the Mori Art Museum, which mainly contains works of modern artists. At the museum, we could see many interesting photos, videos, pictures from various genres. Most of all I was impressed by an exhibition of works about space and universe, as I have always been passionate about astronomy. Replicas of different celestial bodies, motion pictures of astronomical phenomena have taken me into a journey of space exploration.

I would like to express my deep gratitude towards the MIRAI Program, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, JICE and EFIL staff for giving us a life-changing opportunity to discover Japan, its culture, people, and traditions! It was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life!

And below you can see the photos that I would like to share and be inserted in my essay on the MIRAI blog.

Sincerely,

Altynai Tolenova

Pictures by Altynai Tolenova

